Professor Majumdar with student


The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences has over 350 tenure track faculty who are leaders in their respective fields and dedicated teachers and mentors in the classroom (view more videos about LAS faculty).

LAS's award-winning faculty include Fulbright Fellows, Guggenheim Fellows, a MacArthur Fellow, National Endowment for the Humanities and National Endowment for the Arts awardees, National Science Foundation winners, Humboldt fellows, Alfred P. Sloan Fellows, a Whiting Award for Poetry winner, a John Templeton Foundation Grant recipient, and a National Book Prize finalist.

LAS faculty have been granted millions of dollars of research funding from the National Science Foundation, the National Institutes of Health, the U.S. Department of Education, the National Cancer Institute, the National Institute of Mental Health, and the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

What this means is that LAS's faculty bring their passion and innovative research into the classroom.

Speaking of classrooms, lots of LAS faculty have been recognized with awards for their teaching, including the Silver Circle Award (read about the 2016 LAS winners), the Council for Excellence in Teaching and Learning Award, the LAS Master Teacher Award, and more.

Dedication to teaching LAS students is a shared commitment at LAS.

You can read more about recent LAS faculty awards and areas of expertise on LAS News. You can also read more about LAS faculty on academic unit websites.